The Shocking Reality of Misquoting the Bible {Especially About Sexual Sin}

I am shocked at those who claim to read their Bible that are taking to social media and the web to say that the Bible and God support homosexuality, fornication, or any other kind of sexual sin including sex outside of marriage. The jaw dropping kind of shocked.

However, my shock is not the “shocking reality” to which I refer in the title to this article. Keep reading for that.

Now keep in mind {as I’ve talked about before when telling my story}, that I lived in sexual sin even after I accepted Jesus into my life. I get how very easy it is to justify something just because we want it. I also know that everyone has to get to that point to where they want to find out and follow all that God says in His Word… if we are truly living for Him. But the truth is that I knew what I was choosing was wrong. And I think that most people do know that deep inside, even before following Christ.

The over arching truth from Genesis to Revelation tells of God making men and women specific and with certain purpose and individual plan from the womb. From beginning to end He identifies what relationship and purpose and plan is regarding each person in creation. We are made very specific.

He gives man and woman in marriage – the beautiful idea that only He created – and compares it all throughout to His Bride which is His people. Jesus Himself mentions this and also sexual sin of many kinds.

Do I think that Christians are going to win anyone to Christ by shoving their “sin” in their face? Of course not.

Please forgive my abruptness here…

but that is absurd!

No, wait.

I’m not sorry for saying it outright. It’s not a Godly thing to scream “sinner” at anyone whether it is in social media or blogs or in church or on the street. It is never ever a good thing to yell or call names or shame.

I’m guessing here, but I’d say most of us have done this in one way or another before. I will admit I have. And God showed me that is NOT working. I think that’s what the “log in the eye” verses are referring to in the New Testament. It isn’t that we can’t lovingly help others see and rid sin. It’s the yelling, the shaming, the higher-than-thou attitude… the big stuff. The logs.

And hey, I was glad that people were lovingly bold with me in my life regarding sins. I still am. But being loving and doing it in God’s timing is the only way. I am referring to how and when things are said. We have to be bold but loving. I talked about how in my last article. It isn’t always easy, but we must. The state of the world today is crying out for it.

Having said that I’ll get back to my shock and dismay about Christians claiming that God supports sexual sin.

I don’t only talk about one kind of sexual sin here on my site, but since the subject of homosexuality has become more and more prevalent, I will address it.  That and I’ve been asked numerous times in the last several years to speak about it. I wasn’t ready then because I wanted to carefully read what God actually said about it all. Now I’m ready.

I lost a FB friend because he tried to force me into a conversation about it when I was still studying the Bible regarding it. I just don’t talk to hear myself talk. I share what God has taught me.

And recently I was verbally attacked on social media by a real life friend who chooses to live a homosexual life.

I’m not going to sugar coat this… it hurt. I saw this friend often and he was kind and loving to me. Hugged me when my Fibromyalgia was dragging me down and laughed with me when I felt good.

What he did hurt me.

What did I choose to do in response? 

I chose to just love him instead of yelling back… after all, he had told me several times in two years of knowing him that our family was the nicest, most loving Christians he’s ever known. I just wanted him to know that love had not stopped even though he chose to be nasty to our family because of something I shared to Christians on my FB page as an encouragement after the supreme Court decision last month.

It was extremely sad to me that he knew we were Bible Believing Christians, that I write to Bible Believing Christians, and he had talked to us about God and church on many occasions – even going himself occasionally – yet still he chose to be nasty online instead of talking more in person.  But I saw his pain. Deep inside he is struggling. That right there is Truth trying to be known.

I asked him something he would not answer, and I’ll post the same question here:

You are asking a Christ Follower to go against what the Bible says to agree that homosexuality is okay. Why would you have any trust in me if I swayed with culture… to go against and twist what God says? I’d have no integrity.

Should I not follow completely what means so much to me? What I believe is Truth is life altering, so, of course I should follow it completely.

I shared with him this excellent article by Matthew Parris, a self-proclaimed gay atheist, who explains just that very thing very well. I’m not Catholic, but his point is true for all Christ Followers and everyone needs to hear it. Everyone.

The Word, which is Jesus from The Beginning, tells of near entire populations giving over to the sins of homosexuality and fornication – both which are sex beyond the confines God made when He put man with woman.

Matthew 19:4-6 (ESV) In Jesus’ own words.

He answered, “Have you not read that he who created them from the beginning made them male and female, and said, ‘Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh’? So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate.”


John 5:46-47 (ESV)

For if you believed Moses, you would believe me; for he wrote of me. But if you do not believe his writings, how will you believe my words?”


The red letter words aren’t the only words to live by, but even those spell out what Jesus taught about marriage and sexuality. 


God was not confused when He gave us each the bodies we have, being male and female.

God was not confused when He speaks against this time and again.

It is NOT taking things out of context to quote The Bible in the OT and NT when it comes to these truths. They are an arc of Truth in God’s Word… from beginning to end.

Christians should read it asking God to reveal His Truth.

I always speak against taking Scripture out of context. But this is not one of those times when that argument can be made. But twisting Scripture to justify it all is wrong. Maybe even deadly.

This is critical. People stay distanced from Jesus when they live with sin as if it is okay… especially lifestyle sin of any kind. 
Hear my heart here, please, lest you think I’m just yelling about sin just to yell. I’m 100% telling not yelling, because I lived it. Lived sin.

Sure, I still sin and hate that I do. But I’m not talking about doing something wrong, feeling remorse, and asking forgiveness from God. I’m talking about living in sin willingly. Lifestyle sin.

Years and years ago I lived in sexual sin willingly. I’ve written about it. I thought sex outside of marriage would find me love. I was deceived. It nearly killed me. But more importantly it kept me from Jesus. Even after I gave my life to Him, it kept me distanced from Him.

And it very well could have been the thing that made me choose to turn away from Him altogether.

It certainly kept me from blessing that He had waiting for me. I chose to have sex before I was married.

I chose. I lived in sin, choosing it over trusting God.

And it hurt.

It hurt badly.

So, Christians, when should we speak up about what God says in His Word?

We should speak only when God has us speak to others about this. That may be in public and that may be in private conversation – or it may be both for some of us.

But…

We need to be ready to explain what The Word REALLY says. We need to do it in love.

We need not confuse the world by saying that this is okay. It’s never okay. It will never be okay. God’s Word stands.

I told my friend the Truth. His response was crushingly sad:

I’ll give up my sin when you give up your god.

He feels emboldened now by the “law”. Because love is being skewed and used to justify something that has far reaching implications that many are missing, including my friend. Well, he exited our lives. He chose to not love us anymore. But, I will always be there when he wants to hear the Truth in love, because I love my friends.

The far-reaching implications are what are shocking. The Church – Christ Followers, Bible Followers – getting scripture wrong on this means that we are leading people down the path to destruction and eternal separation from God.

The shocking reality is we are leading people astray. Lord God forgive us.

G.K. Chesterton made a prophetic comment more than half a century ago:

 “For under the smooth legal surface of our society there are already moving very lawless things. We are always near the breaking-point when we care only for what is legal and nothing for what is lawful. Unless we have a moral principle about such delicate matters as marriage and murder, the whole world will become a welter of exceptions with no rules. There will be so many hard cases that everything will go soft.”

This is very serious. People’s eternities are at stake.

Let’s speak Truth and do it in love always.

#God #ALLIN #Jesus #Christianity #Bible #LoveWins #GodsLoveWins

24 thoughts on “The Shocking Reality of Misquoting the Bible {Especially About Sexual Sin}

    • Heather Mertens says:

      And thank YOU, Gordon, for conitnually encouraging me. This is not anywhere near an easy bold road to walk, but I thank God for you and others who are willing to keep me lifted up and encouraged to continue.

      Like

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Mark, you dear Brother are such an amazing voice for God’s Truth and I for one am grateful for you encouragement and prayer and also for the Truth you share on your blog and social media. I see the value more and more of True Believers to stand together in solidarity to love a hurting world even when it does not want the love. Bless you, Brother.

      Like

  1. Susan Irene Fox says:

    Heather, thank you so much for this heartfelt, compassionate and thoughtful post. I struggle with this myself because I am convinced people do not choose to be gay, just like we do not choose to be straight. Why would someone choose to be an outcast?
    However, I am seriously pondering your words, and researching Scripture myself. This is a long process for me, and I appreciate the way you have approached this. I wish I could sit in your living room and talk face to face.
    I do agree with your admonishment about bringing people into the kingdom: “being loving and doing it in God’s timing is the only way.” I, too, was a sexual sinner, and had my own friends not been compassionate with me – and left the judgment up to God – I might never have opened my heart to Jesus.
    Bless you, Heather, for all you do to give God glory and build His kingdom here on earth. <3

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens says:

      I really don’t have words to share with this that you have said to my heart and soul, dear Susan. I just want to say how much it means to me but I have been pondering the words for days. I know you will appreciate this …

      All I muster is gratitude to God. I thank Him for you and these words that cut through the pain that comes with being bold with love and compassion. He has touched me through you.
      I too wish we could sit face to face and chat and study His Word. It would take days! :) I’d love it!!
      Yes… We should discuss the “choosing” thing you mentioned and I will share more of what I believe Scripture says about that. I love to dive deep. It’s those times in particular that God has shown me new things, changed my viewpoint, and confirmed what I believed. Live. Learn. Love. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Susan, I basically stopped all communication/reading/social media etc after stopping my blog writing 7 months ago, so I may have not finished a conversation we were in. And for that I am sorry. I have a rough last year and this past 7 months have been very difficult. I wanted to thank you again for your love shown to me and others. I hope you see this. I hope you are doing well. Blessings to you. – Heather M

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cheryl Smith says:

    Oh, dear friend! THANK YOU for this post! It blessed my soul so much to see you stand for truth…and to see you speak it in love. This was a wonderfully inspired post, full of truth and wisdom. I appreciate it…and you…so much! Have a blessed day, and know that your labor in the Lord I never in vain. You are making such a positive difference. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Cheryl, Your beautiful words of joy to lift me up to continue as I share what Truth God lays on my heart to share are ever so appreciated and needed. They are like God wrapping His arms around me to hug me as He speaks through your heart. As hard as it is to live the utterly bold life I do and say things a lot of people do not want to think about, I know it is not in vain. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. You are a blessing beyond words.

      Like

  3. writerwannabe763 says:

    Heather, This is a wonderful post, helpful to many. Can I ask you what your thoughts are about those who say, that there are many babies born with various disabilities some genetic by nature.. and so what is the difference between those types of physical abnormalities and perhaps those born with hormonal problems leading to a male feeling ‘female’ and vice versa leading to living a homosexual life style…. I have offered an answer to these questions, but have been met with denial. eg. If God believes man/woman laying with same sex is detestable or not normal…. why would he create them with such a desire? My response is that He doesn’t and ‘why does God create children with abnormalities?’ what is the difference….My response (shortened ) is that He doesn’t deliberately do so, but in life, birth defects sometimes happen but He never ‘detests or abhors’ these children and He never abhors/detests those who are gay…. just the act of homosexuality. Have you any thoughts on this at all? I may have confused the issue… sorry if I have Diane

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Diane, I have thought much about your concerns here in your questions. I want to first say I hold you dear to my heart in this online word because you are always searching for God’s truth and doing so in love. Your ongoing encouragement to me through the past few years has been an amazing blessing. Thank you. Thank you so much.
      As for your response to those questions that you have been asked.. I agree totally with you as it is clearly shown in God’s Word to be true. He does not abhor the people… they are after all His creations and His love. Sin and thereby illness, deformities, disease, sexual sin, moral sin, sin of all kinds and earthly body destruction of all kinds were brought in by the original sin. But you see those who ask those questions do not believe in God or His Word. So as we talk to those who ask these questions we must always bring the covnersation around to the Gospel of Christ. The conversations must always lead to Jesus, because the truth is that in the end they will not come to Jesus by intellect of “understanding” any of these things, but by a true one on one encounnter with the living Christ. Then and only then will these questions be seen in the truth and not from any other standpoint.
      But all in all, you are right as I see Scripture being clear on it all. It all comes down to choice in those situations. God came to suffer WITH US and FOR US and to give us a way out. Those questioners want to make Him the cause, but He is really the ANSWER.
      MUCH LOVE TO YOU MY SISTER,
      Heather

      Liked by 1 person

      • writerwannabe763 says:

        Sadly, some of whom I speak are Christians and who do know God’s word, but honestly believe that it is possible hormones etc cause some to be Gay… no need to expound Heather… just a note… Diane

        Like

        • Heather Mertens says:

          I too have had conversations with other Christians about this – as if it is up for debate. I just point them to God’s Word and let it speak, but I do tell them the same things we discussed. It will onlly get worse, my friend, and some of those who claim to be Christians will find out they were following a falsehood… even those who sit in church pews throughout the globe. I pray for these who do not read God’s Word to see what it really says, and for their hearts to rise up in a fire to want to read it for themselves instead of letting the banter dictate what they think of God. It is sad.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Patty B says:

    I will add my amen to this also. I work within a church governing body and it saddens me to hear pastors talk like this – those who should know better. My boss told me that those of us who hold to God’s Word and live in His Truth are the remnants of His church of the last days. So we are God’s Remnant of His Truth.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Patty, Thank you so much for your friendship. I treasure it dearly. I too agree that we are a remnant and slowly it is becoming more evident to true Believers. Those on the fence will have to choose if they never have before… do they Truly follow Christ or not.
      We must stand for Him together. I am glad you are there with me, dear Sister.

      Like

  5. A Disciple's Quest says:

    Dear Heather,
    Your post is a fulfillment of Apostle Paul’s words – “speaking the truth in love.” Have been blessed and encouraged through reading your post – to continue to do the same, for our Lord and for His people. God bless you and your beautiful family! Love and prayers from Hyderabad, India. in Him, Preeti

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Oh dear Preeti, I am so thankful to hear from you here! I am thankful also for your encouragment and want to extend it back to you! Keep being bold in love for God’s Truth because as the world gets worse within evil they need it. God bless you as you do and God bless your family in following Him. You are a gift to me this day as I read this and thank God for you!

      Like

  6. mrteague says:

    Good word. I’m sorry about your friend. I pray the Holy Spirit reminds him of everything Jesus said through you, & that he won’t forget the kindness shown him. I have lost relationships because of Jesus as well & I know what you mean when you say it hurts! The Lord bless :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Thank you dear friend in Christ for praying for the friend I mentioned here. He needs that prayer and as I told him, I believe he knows Jesus is calling him and I pray he doesn’t hit rock bottom before he listens. And although it hurt me greatly, the hurt was because I know how much it hurts God to have this lost sheep knowingly turn his head away from the Shepherd.
      Oh should he hear though… praises will be there!

      Like

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Thank you, dear Brother, for that encouragement to me and my bold stand for God’s Truth. I will not declare anything else. I love your statement.. .they can bend the truth but it will not break. Amen, Walter, amen!
      I often wonder just how many Christians are truly ready for what is to come and is exploding onto the world scene already. I think bold is the only way to not to be lukewarm, and I pray I am prepared for the “bending”. Thanks for lifting me up. May God bless your ministry mightily and your boldness -which I have always admired and loved – bring Truth to many.

      Liked by 1 person

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

