Your Voice is for Truth {To Speak Or Not To Speak… That Is the Question}

If we don’t voice our beliefs and stand up for what we believe in, then we must ask ourselves where our loyalty lies.

God uses voices. He doesn’t need them. He chooses to use them.

I’m not referring to the times when we know to hold back with someone as He leads. His timing is far better than ours. We must walk and talk with care and forethought around those who are impressionable or unknowledgeable of the Truth of the Spirit.

“… that I may make it clear, which is how I ought to speak. Walk in wisdom toward outsiders, making the best use of the time. Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person. (ESV) Colossians 4:4-6

I’m referring to the voices for God’s Truth in business, friendship, politics, education… Everything … in everyday life when we feel it in our “gut” to say something. That’s the Spirit leading.

By all means if you have sought God’s wise instruction in a particular conversation, as we all should pray for His guidance, and He tells you to wait, then wait on the Lord. It is all about what He knows. 

But there are way more times when we feel convicted to voice-up, but we don’t … and if we really think about why … we find they are for self-centered reasons.

  
I’ve done it too. I’ve been afraid to say something because the person might not like me anymore. I’ve been hesitant because I think it might push them away from God. I’ve been fearful of saying something because I might lose a job or a benefit in life.

But I heard God nudge me more and more. They are ready to hear what He asks me to share… Right when He asks. 

So I ditched the fear and the selfish thinking and now I risk everything for sharing what might be what saves them from an eternity without God or what might lead them closer to Jesus then they’ve ever been.

Why would I not stand up and be a voice when God asks? Just because I might lose something does not mean I was not supposed to share. I might lose… but they might gain a seed to the ultimate Gift. 

We must not forget:
People in this world still die for standing up for Truth.

If we don’t voice our beliefs and stand up for what we believe in, then we must ask ourselves where our loyalty lies. Are we loyal to the God we say we follow and trust with every aspect of our lives? Or are we loyal only with ourselves – afraid to go against the crowd or be called out or be ignored?

Don’t miss an opportunity He gives you. Be a voice for Him. I can tell you when I listened carefully with determination is when God was free to work through me. Sometimes… I don’t even realize just how very much. 

Live blessed so others see blessing,

Heather

9 thoughts on “Your Voice is for Truth {To Speak Or Not To Speak… That Is the Question}

  1. imconfident says:

    True, we need to stop being afraid to stand up for what we believe in. I’ve missed many opportunities because of fear that I would say something wrong or push people away from me, but now I try very hard to share my thoughts and beliefs with others and pray that God will move something in their hearts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens says:

      It isn’t always easy, is it? But it is always always worth it. I believe God wants us to depend on Him for these opportunities. I pray and ask for them.
      Thanks for your friendship, Brenda. I value you. :)

      Like

  2. Susan Irene Fox says:

    Heather, it is within my friendship with you I have learned the importance of voicing our beliefs, even if we disagree. It is in those disagreements we come closer to God, learn more of His heart, learn to open our own minds and hearts, and learn to put aside our own egos so we can be open to His call and hear His Voice and Truth.

    You are a blessing to me, my sweet friend.

    <3

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Susan, I appreciate you so much, just love your heart! I treasure the email encouragement and comments you send because in the midst of my heartaches and disappointments the past year, you have been a beacon of light and love to my soul. You’ve ministered to me and I am thankful. Your poetry and words have power and that power is God given to draw others nearer to Him. I alwasy appreciate all converations, even those as you mention in which people dont always agree. It is an opportunity each time to show respect and love… and to learn something.
      Bless you dear friend.
      Love,
      Heather

      Liked by 1 person

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

