Do You Pray Dangerous Prayers?

Can prayer be dangerous?

Greater Is He | 40YearWanderer | Heather Mertens

 

Devote yourselves to prayer, keeping alert in it with an attitude of thanksgiving; ~ Colossians 4:2 NASB

 

Depends on how you define ‘dangerous’, I think. If it is defined as ‘risky’ then it’s a resounding “YES!” If it is defined as ‘doing harm’ then it’s a resounding “YES!”

I once told my pastor that after all that I had been through, after all God had taught me, that I was absolutely “along for the ride, God.” He smiled and said, “that’s a dangerous prayer.”

He was right.

It’s risky from a human standpoint because most of us don’t really think we can give up our moments to be ready to be used, or we don’t think we are capable of being used, or that we aren’t good enough to be used.

I’ve got three words for those three thoughts of doubt:

Moses
Rahab
Paul

Moses told God outright “I can’t even speak.” But he was willing to risk it all and lives were saved.

Rahab was a prostitute. But she was willing to risk it all and lives were saved.

Paul gave up his life, his days, his moments to always be ready to be used. But he was willing to risk it all and lives have been saved.

So I decided… I’ve got only this moment. Risk it! Be willing. I’m living for His plan or I’m not living.

You are from God, little children, and have overcome them; because greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world. ~ 1 John 4:4 NASB

I love that He calls us “children”. We are dear to Him so we know we can trust Him.

And if we go by that second definition – doing harm – then I’m ready! Let’s tell God we are ready to be used and do some harm to sin and hatred and the enemy.

The battle is already won. We just need to live it out.

Live Blessed,
Heather

11 thoughts on “Do You Pray Dangerous Prayers?

  1. Planting Potatoes says:

    so well said – I think sometimes we pray in ways that we feel we should – half afraid that God will actually answer – like he did Moses, David, Jeremiah, and the list goes on and on – sometimes I think we are afraid of the answers God gives us – because most of the time, they won’t line up with our lives. what a good post today! God bless you today!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Planting Potatoes says:

        I think that is one thing that was ushered into the world when adam and eve brought evil into the wrold -the knowledge that God did not want us to have – was fear of anything…but we got it didn’t we? And now – until Jesus returns and God cleanses the world – I’m afraid we are stuck with it aren’t we? But just because we feel it – doesn’t mean God is going to let it rule us. God bless you Heather.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Equipping The Saints says:

    Thank you for your desire to serve God. I trust that you will stay in prayer for Him to use you in a very special way. Remember Danie’s prayer. As soon as he prayed, his prayer was answered. In due time, the answer was delivered to Daniel. So, I will try to provide a bit of encouragment for you. That is, for you to stay in prayer. Let God take care of the rest.

    Liked by 1 person

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

