Beating Chronic Pain: Healing and Hope Inside His Plan {Part 1}

IMG_5863.JPG

So many of you have asked me what treatment I’ve been following that has helped my chronic pain so dramatically. I intentionally waited to write about it until now ~ having wanted to write about it so many times in the last 2 months ~ because I wanted to be sure I shared with you what God would have me share.

You see, healing is very real to me. I was healed in 1997 instantly of clinical depression… a diseased imbalanced mind. I had suffered for two decades in a trapped mind that was so influenced by evil that I nearly didn’t wake up from the personal nightmare that stole much from my life in more ways than one. God worked in me over those years to change my mindset, and in June of 1997 He healed me.

I’ve been redeemed.
Set free.
So I get healing.
Truly. I get it.

And I get that healing comes in many different ways as allowed by God in His plan.

But I also get that Jesus Himself never promised that God’s ultimate plan would heal us all of infirmities if only we prayed with strong enough faith, or righted all our wrongs, or something else. In fact, He told us quite the opposite.

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” ~ John 16:33

“In this world you will have troubles” is quite a statement. BUT God provides protection and a way out. And sometimes that comes in the form of physical healing and sometimes it comes in another form. We must wait on our physical healing inside God’s perfect timing ~ whether in this life or our eternal life.

He said we are healed, yes. But for some that healing hasn’t manifested in this life. And for many I suspect it won’t. Maybe my first healing doesn’t guarantee the healing I seek now from this Fibromyalgia beast. I suspect I’m being asked to carry this thorn in my flesh for a few reasons. I’m okay with that because I want to walk within His plan. There may be others to bless if I walk this out; things to learn; souls to touch. I don’t want to miss any of my purpose. But I still want to be healed. And I will be.

So I’ve spent a lot of time praying and seeking the Lord on this Fibromyalgia that I have been dealing with for a few years now. Actually there are around 40 symptoms and I can look back and see that most of my life I’ve had several of them all along. It’s been in the last four years that things have gotten drastically worse. It has been this past year that doctors suspected that my nervous system was messed up ~ on overdrive all the time. Turns out that is what Fibromyalgia is… a nervous system messed up so badly that the brain can’t effectively communicate with it. That’s the reason for so many symptoms and not one cure. But God can cure me just as He did in 1997.

I’ve asked Him, not only to heal me, but to show me how to take better care of the body … this soul vessel that He chose for me. I don’t want to just mask symptoms, nor do I want to just manage the symptoms. I want to be fixed. So I don’t give up. Ever.

I knew that something that had been going on for years in my life ~ quite possibly something that was genetically predisposed or even messed up at birth ~ wouldn’t be fixed overnight, certainly. I also realize that the vast majority of the diseases, cancers, and other illnesses have come about or ramped up in the last 40 to 50 years. I figured it didn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that there has to be a reason for that. Modern times bring modern problems. I prefer to take care of myself and my family in the most natural ways possible and that includes what we eat, the medicines we take, and the outlook we have for our mind and body health.

So I set out to read as much research, documented experience, and studies on my symptoms. As a few doctors agreed that my nervous system was certainly not functioning properly, I began to realize that all the many symptoms were related somehow. Last week a fourth doctor confirmed it is fibromyalgia. I’m thankful he ruled out other extreme life-threatening and debilitating diseases, but this diagnosis is no walk in the park on the scale of illnesses.

Since I have researched and learned so much about health, and since my family has changed the way we eat and take care of ourselves over the last six years, I was prepared to find a natural treatment. And when the doctor confirmed what I had been reading in various places, that the medicines prescribed for Fibromyalgia are merely treating the many symptoms and that they only work about 20 to 30% of the time, I knew that I was on the right track with trying the natural treatments.

The one, of many, that has helped thousands of patients all over the world has also helped me so very much. Actually my pain is reduced probably 80-90%, and most of the other symptoms have drastically reduced or have not bothered me at all since I started this plan in July. The rheumatologist supported my decision and was happy to hear that it had been helping me so much. While I do still have some days with pain and other symptoms, and some mornings are still the hardest for me, I really have felt incredibly better!

I want to share this information with people who suffer from chronic pain or who have a loved one that does, and I’ve had countless people write me and asked me to, so I will. But I do want you know I don’t write a health blog, nor do I claim this is a cure just as the doctor who has helped so many doesn’t. But he wants very much to help chronic pain patients overcome the illnesses and reclaim their lives. That is what I want for myself, and that is what I want for you. I just can’t say that this will or will not work for you, but it has helped many with Fibromyalgia, CFS, and other nerve related pain illnesses.

Having said all that, I believe that this plan would help even more people if they would just give it a try. So in the effort that this might help others, I will share what has worked for me.

I have a friend that is being treated directly by the doctor that developed this particular treatment plan, and she has experienced the same results! It’s going to take more than one post for me to explain what has worked so well, so I encourage you not to miss one of them if you want to give this plan a try.

It really is not complicated and the central idea is to re-balance the brain chemicals through restorative sleep. Fibromyalgia and other chronic pain illness patients have a great deal of trouble getting full deep sleep. There were many sleepless nights for me especially in the last four years, some nights barely getting two hours and that was not necessarily in a row.

In part two I will go into more detail about the treatment plan, who the doctor is, and where you can find it for yourself. I just wanted to let everyone know first and foremost that I know that I am healed by God, and that He does not desire for me to be in pain. I also want to carry out His plan and not miss the purpose in this trial.

IMG_5864.JPG

I will also be writing more about the concept of healing from a Scriptural point of view. I know many people do not believe it even when they see it, and I know many people believe strongly that experiencing physical healing is ours for the taking. I don’t see either of those view points in Scripture. Since I have been instantly healed of a physical disease before and I am waiting for healing to take place this time, I am searching for all of God’s truth and want to share what he has revealed.

Part two in the series I pray will encourage you to live with hope for healing no matter how and when that comes about, because God loves you and doesn’t desire to see you suffer. You can talk to Him. You belong to Him.

I’ll also be sending out the email soon to everyone who’s been wanting more information about my new ALL IN ministry. I’ve been busy putting together the team and building the website. We are so excited! This is a vision that God started giving me in bits and pieces over 10 years ago, and to see it come to fruition has been amazingly worth the wait. You are going to love it!

Live blessed,

IMG_3216.JPG

Related articles that I pray will encourage you, friend:

Why Am I Not Healed Yet?

Conversations With the Enemy and God: Faith In the Midst of Chronic Pain

The Trapped Mind Series at Soli Deo Gloria Sisterhood

If you’d like to read the soul-deep stuff I share… I’m eternally grateful to walk this journey with you… You can get me in your email inbox… Well, not really me. ;)

19 thoughts on “Beating Chronic Pain: Healing and Hope Inside His Plan {Part 1}

  1. Dawn says:

    Oh, Heather, the more I ‘meet’ you in this virtual connecting the more I see you are a kindred heart of my own. I am praying for this full healing for you, and for a rescue and restoration from the chronic pain you have come to know as normal. I understand the impotence that chronic pain infuses and the fog that can accompany the thinking it predisposes, but oh for His Grace and his amazing power of hope that we can navigate the living with fullness in spite of the hurt.
    I look forward to the next segment on this topic. We have changed much of our lives in an effort to thwart the use of medicines. Exercise, sleep and eating well have been beneficial not only with my pain but with everything we do, so it is a valid and wise investment to take.
    Blessings!
    Dawn

    Like

    • Heather Mertens says:

      It’s this …. That you are sharing… That helps me run this Good race. Because when someone can be encouraged and draw nearer to God, then I know He gets the glory and they get the blessing. Thank you with all my heart and soul for sharing with your friends; and for encouraging me. It means more than words can say.

      You are a shining jewel in the Kingdom of God. 🌸

      Like

  2. passagethroughgrace says:

    My mom had fibromyalgia and she struggled for years where she was not feeling good. I will be interested to hear more about your treatment but also the scriptural side of healing. Thank you for being brave, committed and willing to share your story.

    Like

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Mary- that you and I have become friends and are walking this journey means so much more to be than I can even express. I’m repeating myself I know. But I really mean it and I want your soul to know it.

      Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Heather, Thank you for your obedience in being Christ’s ambassador for those who suffer like you. You will help so many. May you be comforted as you comfort others. Found you through the Weekend Brew.

    Like

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

