Are You Sharing Fake Christianity? ~ {Living #ALLIN}

IMG_5209.JPG

Should it take us so long in our faith walk to get to the point we are making every decision based in God’s Word? I realize it does … that it’s common. But I don’t think God intended it to be that way. Scripture mentions the renewing of our mind. I think we prolong that and sometimes avoid it in some areas.

Take for instance, the following and sharing of certain Bible teachers and their words. It’s running rampant among Christians to glean learning, and then share it, from those whose Salvation theology is clearly not Biblical.

“Any theology which ignores Jesus Christ as the supreme Authority ceases to be Christian theology.” ~ Oswald Chambers

Let’s check everyone we follow and read and share. We can’t be lukewarm.

I’ve had this on my heart so VERY heavily lately. I’ve been sharing about it. I have received messages from Believers saying they see Truth in it and that my heart is to follow after Scripture all the way. Some very nice messages. Some “thank yous.” That is confirmation. God blesses me through you.

But I’ve also received bad treatment from other Believers. Even people who’ve unfriended and blocked me on Facebook. I just can’t help but think they don’t really want to hear the truth.

Avoidance.

And that concerns my soul for them.

Oh this is heavy.

I had one person ask me if I had a helpful list of these preacher/teachers to steer clear from. I think that’s a good idea – without cutting them down of course. That is not the way God would want it.

IMG_5210.JPG

I also only want to do that on God’s leading, because I don’t know the true state of some of these preacher/teacher’s salvation in their heart.

Some are clearly teaching and believing false doctrine. If they are preaching false doctrine and they’re not saved that’s one thing … a sad thing… a prayer is needed. If they say outright that Jesus is NOT the only way in some form or another… are they really saved? They are not.

But…
Maybe they’re Believers but just backsliding or lukewarm. But I’m not sure how God feels about all that ultimately. If they are preaching a false doctrine because they been deceived and they truly have given their life to Christ that’s another thing.

Jesus is crystal clear in The Word when He says He is the only Way. The ONLY WAY.

Christians sound like hypocrites to the world when they share a false teaching. If it matters to God, it should matter to us. We must be on guard. He gives us armor for a reason.

I DO NOT believe Christ Followers should go out on a hunt for those who are not speaking Truth in Christ. I do not do this. However it is rampant these days all over the internet.

It is extraordinarily important to listen to the Holy Spirit when He warns us. If we are constantly checking ourselves, and all that we take in, to the Scriptures, then we will be aware when we need to be. It is important that we should check into those we follow through reading and Biblical teaching. Should they turn out to be teaching a false salvation theology, then they are not people we should be learning from. If they have error mixed in with Truth, then Truth still prevails, but we are held accountable for what we share and base our complete theology on.

We can not ignore the Holy Spirit. The Church is being eroded from the underside with those who call themselves Christians, but then turn around and say that Jesus is not the only way to God and eternal life. Christ Followers, watch and proceed with God’s caution.

It is not usually difficult to find quotes from each teacher or voice speaking, about eternal life and spiritual things, in order to find their true beliefs. Don’t be lukewarm.

Here is a good question to ask ourselves:

How much does this person I am following quote from God’s Word?

If they rarely or never do, if they twist it, then check to see if what they teach is their agenda instead.

That’s why I’m so leery to share quotes and recommend anything from these teachers, because I just don’t know ultimately where someone might end up if they followed them based on my recommendation. I do not want to lead or be lead astray.

Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness. ~ James 3:1

Ann Lamott (and many like her) are examples of this. She has said in interviews and writes in her very own words that while she claims to have found God through Jesus that she believes Jesus is NOT the only way to God and eternal life.

She is not the only writer/speaker out there who believes this. This should be obviously identified as a false salvation theology, and my heart is shattered over all the sharings and “amens” of these falsehoods by Christians. Why, oh why, are we not checking into a person’s full beliefs before sharing on social media, with our friends, and on our sites?

God warns in His Word. ONLY God knows the heart and salvation of someone, and just as I can’t determine that state of their soul, neither can these who say they “know” that all people go to be with God in Heaven at their death – as these people claim in their Unitarian and New Age Universalist views.

Troubling.

I’ve been very troubled since I’ve seen a storm of quotes by Christians on FB and the web in the last year by people such as Henri Nouwen, Marianne Williamson, Rob Bell, Ann Lamott and other Universalists/New Agers.

Universalism is Unitarian. It is not Scriptural. One may not believe in Christ as the only way to eternal life, but a Christian can not say it can be either through Christ or another way. That questions their salvation in and of itself. I do not claim to know a person’s salvation nor the salvation of these which I listed, but by their theological “fruit” I can discern with caution how to proceed.

— From Sabbatical Journey, Henri Nouwen’s book (page 51, 1998)

“Today I personally believe that while Jesus came to open the door to God’s house, all human beings can walk through that door, whether they know about Jesus or not. Today I see it as my call to help every person claim his or her own way to God.”

That clearly shows what Nouwen believes.

On another note some quotes sound so good! I hear this:

“I use them just because they are good and I hope people reading what I share understand.”

But aren’t WE responsible for what we teach? God says “yes”.

A quote from someone that is Truth in and about Christ is always Truth. It’s just troubling to think how many Christians might be deceived into following the whole of a person’s theology instead of a Truthful quote just because a person has lots of good quotes. And to those seeking God reading them, might it be a bad direction to send them in with no context? It very well might be. That’s why I’m so very careful who I quote. Should I find out later that which should be retracted… I’d do so and explain why.

For if someone comes and proclaims another Jesus than the one we proclaimed, or if you receive a different spirit from the one you received, or if you accept a different gospel from the one you accepted, you put up with it readily enough.
~ 2 Corinthians 11:4

I’m
Heart
Shattered

These past few years, I’ve been taken aback and the Holy Spirit has maintained my heart conviction that Christians are following *seemingly* Godly people. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve come across people liking FB pages, sharing teachings, and writing about what they’ve learned from people who claim Christianity BUT say that Christ is NOT the only way to Heaven and eternal salvation.

What they say sometimes might be truth in context to Jesus because Truth is always Truth, but PLEASE check their salvation beliefs. If what they claim ultimately about salvation is opposite of what Jesus says then run. Do not walk. Do not let yourselves be deceived even a little. If even the elect should be deceived.

They are many. And it’s much easier to be fooled by the enemy when the person we are listening to looks and sounds like us *most* of the time.

My daughter, Emerson, wrote a beautiful piece on her site that included this:

“And the fact that so many Christians are accepting that which should be obviously opposite of biblical truth is incredibly appalling and leaves me questioning who can even be trusted anymore. How can one claim to follow Christ, but ignore and negate His very teachings? If one verse of the Bible is false, is the entire Book not compromised in its integrity? If we believe it is divinely inspired by God Himself, but we do not take every word of it as true or correct, then how can we claim the rest of it to be true? If God were to allow errors in His truths and principles, how could we trust any of what He says? Would the only other option not be that He lied to us? If we read the Word in this way, we undermine its very authority and we lay a shaky foundation for our beliefs. We also inadvertently deny God’s holiness, righteousness, sovereignty, and trustworthiness, and we claim to know better than He does.”

Please share this everywhere you can if you agree in checking those we learn from and share. Please share if you know we must be more careful… especially in the times in which we find ourselves living. We need to get this word out there.

If you are in the “crowd”, you might consider that they have it wrong. Jesus didn’t follow the crowd… He led it.
It’s never easy to speak out for what is right in the eyes of God.

It’s always easy to follow a crowd. But is the crowd checking with Him?

IMG_5205-0.JPG

Live Blessed and #ALLIN,

Heather

If you’d like to read the soul-deep stuff I share… I’m eternally grateful to walk this journey with you… You can get me in your email inbox… Well, not really me. ;)

30 thoughts on “Are You Sharing Fake Christianity? ~ {Living #ALLIN}

  1. Susan Irene Fox says:

    Keep speaking truth from the Spirit, Heather. Some of the people you mention I think are afraid Jesus is too small, too exclusive, too unforgiving. They don’t understand the depth of His heart, the width of His arms, the height of His grace and mercy. Jesus is enough.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

      Susan,
      It’s sad that people don’t know the REAL Jesus, isn’t it? They like living in a box.
      I pray constantly that I keep seeking and find only the truth. It’s easy to hone focus into one thing and lose sight of God’s bigger plan for us. May I never.
      Thank you for your beautiful email last week. I’m off social media – cut my electronics time drastically – for this treatment. I’m feeling better today then I did over the weekend. I hope to keep improving. Thank you for your prayers.
      I love you dear, Sister.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. imconfident says:

    You are right – we need to be on guard. There will always be false prophets. Some actually believe they are right, others don’t know or don’t care and some are purposely trying to lead people away from God. Christians should not avoid people who don’t speak the truth, instead we need to be prepared and ready to give a challenging response. It is important to constantly review and study the word and if something doesn’t seem right, we need to search for the answer instead of just accepting what other people say.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

      Amen! Now if only everyone in the Body of Christ were open to these discussions as we are supposed to be… we’d all grow toward God more in Christ. Sadly some want to believe what suits them.
      I certainly want to know if I’m in danger of being mislead at any point!

      Thank you for the prayers for my health, dear friend. I treasure you.

      Like

      • writerwannabe763 says:

        I know that you are struggling with health issues.. you need to concentrate on getting stronger… It seems that sometimes issues drag on and take their time … I still am having tests etc. but hopefully something can be done to resolve my issue. I hope yours’ does too…. take care.. Diane

        Liked by 1 person

  3. jeanniepallett.com says:

    Have really appreciated…reading my thoughts in your words. Yes, your exhortation is right on and I do believe we must all look for the truth of the Word in the words of others and not just good, well written words. May He continue to keep your eyesight sharp and focused.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

      Thank you for letting me know, Jeannie. Your encouragement is a blessing. Thankful to connect with you and others who are trying to live all in for Jesus. I pray we never are mislead like I’ve discussed in this post.
      I’ve actually stopped reading a majority of blogs because of it – and am looking for others that truly want to live out their calling through their writing. It encourages me to find others, like yourself, that truly want full growth in The Lord.
      Blessings new friend!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. enthusiasticallydawn says:

    Heather, I hear what you are saying and do believe that there is an over-share mentality in these Social Media times we live in. I do appreciate quotes and points from those I may not agree with from a biblical perspective. However I do not advocate any philosophy that opposes Christ’s clear teaching. I have found that a a huge number of fellow bloggers do adhere to perpetuating an all roads lead to God mentality…THIS is disturbing to me. It is one thing to relate to a common theme…another to support something that is in outright opposition to Christ.These are troubling times. Also Good word, Jeannie P.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

      Yes, Dawn. That very thing you said is why I’m so adamant I don’t share anything that comes from a source that would lead someone astray if they trusted my even-casual sharing enough to go read their stuff often. I care about the people too much that God has entrusted to me in their spiritual walk with The Lord.

      I see that same trend you mention in many Christian blogging circles. One of many really that quite keep people in the same old spot in their walk instead of deepening their relationship with Christ. Saddening to my soul.

      Thanks for chatting here with me. :)

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Being Woven says:

    Thank you so much for speaking the truth in love.
    God’s Word speaks:

    Be of sober spirit, be on the alert. Your adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. 1 Peter 5:8

    “Be watchful, and strengthen the things which remain, that are ready to die, for I have not found your works perfect before God. Revelation 3:2

    As your neighbor on The Weekend Brew…
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Chris Malkemes says:

    Heather. It is obvious that Jesus has laid this truth in your heart. Other see it and look away, some take it personally and other say, “That’s her problem.” I say, You are a Jude. If they don’t know what that means then they don’t know His word. Transformed minds are not enlightened, but transformed.” I wrote this the other day:

    A Man Died Today

    A man died today.
    He reaped what he sowed.

    The watching world sighs.
    A grieving God cries.
    His loved ones wonder why.
    They reap what he sowed.

    Another man died today.
    He reaped what he sowed.

    The watching world still sighs.
    But his saving God draws nigh
    His loved ones know why.
    They reap what he sowed.

    The watching world watches
    A loving God waits.

    Tomorrow a man will die.
    What did he sow?
    What will he reap?
    Only God knows.

    Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, this he will also reap. For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life…Galatians 6:7-8

    Liked by 2 people

    • Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

      Beautiful poem, Chris. And sobering to think about, isn’t it? Thank you for your encouragement to me. I have received far more messages and comments and emails like yours than the other kind.

      My heart is sad for those others. And very sad for those trapped into it just because they don’t educate themselves. Oh how I pray true Believers won’t be deceived.

      I left you a comment on your blog a couple days ago. I wanted to share something with you.
      I pray it blesses you.
      Much love,
      Heather

      Like

  7. Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

    Reblogged this on 40YearWanderer ~ ~ ~ Heather Mertens and commented:

    Hi friends,
    I’m “out” for my health for a bit. I am concentrating on my treatment and God. He sustains me. I’ve received so many beautiful messages and email and comments about my health – and my last several posts – that I’m still catching up! Thank you sooooo much for those and for your prayers! I feel them. I’ve not forgotten you and pray God blesses each one of you. ❤️ You have blessed me.

    I received a beautiful message from a new friend and it contained this Scripture:

    Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, this he will also reap. For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life…Galatians 6:7-8

    I will reblog the post that drew so much attention… some ignored me and left me, but the vast majority shared how glad they were to read it … some grateful for having eyes opened to this disturbing trend. Many shared they had come to this Truth as well and are glad to connect with others who are truly checking things with God.

    In case you missed it… Here is what has been so very very heavy on my heart for a long time.
    Blessings,
    Heather

    Like

  8. poetry joy says:

    Heather, I have read this post with a troubled mind and heavy heart, both for those leading people astray (even if inadvertently) and for those who have failed to see that this is happening. And I count myself among that number. I have read words from Ann Lammot (mostly about the writing process rather than faith issues) and daily devotionals and books by Henri Nouwen as well. However, nothing that I’ve read/seen so far has been along the lines you mention here and I feel “heart-shattered” and sad hearing about it all.

    My natural tendency is to offer people the benefit of the doubt unless proved otherwise. So the exhortation/admonishment here makes me really sorrowful and concerned about how easily we can be deceived. I am praying for a way ahead to become clear to me because I also know how a word misconstrued and taken out of context can also destroy a person’s innocent reputation. This has happened to many high profile Christians and organisations.

    And while I’m grateful for this Godly warning, my heart is confused at this stage although it still has a deep longing to follow after God’s heart and live all in for Him. I’m praying for enlightenment, balance and insight to help me make sense of it all. This may not be what you want to hear, dear friend, but I have to be honest about my own struggles with this issue too. Sorry :( Also praying for your health to improve and strength to come.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

      Oh dear friend… I don’t think you should apologize, but I so very much appreciate your heart’s desire to do so. Oh how I love your heart dear Joy!
      I think we should research and question everything as you are. I can provide you with the interviews and links I found that clearly show these things. I received your email too. I’ll email you back soon. Then you can see why I say what I do in this cautionary prayerful thing that is on my heart so heavy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • poetry joy says:

        Dear Heather, I am so grateful for your grace and understanding, and for getting back to me so quickly. Thank you! I also appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to source articles to help me see things more clearly. You are a gift to the body of Christ and a woman of valour and courage.
        It may take me some time to read and prayerfully consider all of this. There is a significant birthday looming close on the horizon for me and I have a far busier social calendar than usual. Just need some extra energy and strength as well! Hope to get back to you soon. Bless you for taking such care and being so gracious to me. Sending love, prayers and rich blessings to you. :) Xx

        Liked by 1 person

  9. joaynn510 says:

    Heather, thank you for this beautiful post. Words cannot express how deeply it touched me. While I too am deeply troubled by the words you shared, my hope is people understand and accept the truth, not as means to tear down only to avoid it but to grow in knowledge because of it. Jesus is the way and the truth and the life no one comes to the Father except through him (John 14:6). Keep sharing God’s truth and those for whom it is meant will receive it as such. I’m praying for your healing. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

      Joaynn,
      Your words here touched me very deeply. I can’t express just how much, but please know how appreciative I am. And for your prayers I am eternally grateful. I am feeling better! Healing can take many paths and I’ll bless as many as I can on this one.
      Bless your heart!
      Hugs!
      Heather

      Like

  10. RJ Dawson says:

    Good article, Heather. Thanks. It is always up to each individual to be led by the Lord and allow Him to tell us to steer clear of certain individuals who teach falsely. It always amazes me that so many people are willing to follow certain gurus without checking out their real beliefs. If one is truly hungry in heart for the Truth they will be able, with maturity, to discern the real from the unreal with God’s help. One must read the Word of God and study it very well, of course, and get familiar with it, and allow the Word to get into one’s heart and mind. After that it becomes easier to differentiate between truth and error, but also the real motivation of the false teachers. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Mertens says:

      Thank you, friend! I am extremely concerned about all this. I am amazed as you said, but then I remember how half-way lukewarm I once was and can recognize it now. Sadly so many Christians are not living fully for God, and that is one way they get pulled into these false teachings. There are even many Christians who are then reteaching these false teachings. It’s so sad to me. Thank you for your comment. I truly enjoyed the discussion.

      Like

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

