The Miracle in the Mattress

20140622-114422.jpg

He was there that day ~ my heart called out to Him. He’s always there. But that day? He significantly moved.

 

“They need it, Jesus. And You know we can’t give it to them. But I know You can. Will you give it through us?”

 

That prayer cried out in my heart and soul as I walked around the middle of the Meier store that day. The day lit up by a miracle.

We had just moved to Kentucky on faith. We knew that God had led us there over many other choices. We even thought my husband would have a job. But no. At the bursting of the economy, my husband’s field of expertise was one that was hit hard. He also got sick right after we moved there. Infection after infection. Life dove low. The type of low that makes you feel like your feet are never going to touch again. The love of my life nearly died from meningitis. In a city we had barely become familiar with, the walls came tumbling down with a crushing feeling so tight that every breathe was labored through prayer. We had no money coming in and lots needed to go out. But God was always with us.

We were flipped upside down in every possible way, put smack dab in the middle of a state of which we knew not a single soul, and told…

 

“Listen. Be still and listen.”

 

That was big for us. Our marriage had survived near-insurmountable odds to get to a place that we were both living for God’s plan. All we had left was faith and hope in God. We knew God had brought us there. That year we had ridden our faith out into the unknowns. But that waiting. That very soul-jarring, heart-pounding… WAITING… was so worth it.

 

We went in to that store that day for groceries and necessities. But after my prayer that day … we came out with so much more.

40YearWanderer_dot_com_Provide_Trust

That week we had been thinking about a ministry at our new church that had families in need of mattress sets. We were in hard times, but we still had a bed to lay our heads down on that night. Our hearts set sail to help.

 

“Oh, Jesus. We don’t have the money to buy such an expensive thing! But our hearts ache to provide this. I believe you can help us.”

 

Then…

He showed up.

Big time.

As I finished asking and thanking Him for any opportunity to help, I saw it.

As I turned down that aisle ~ a mattress set.

My heart skipped a beat.

The questions that anyone would naturally think started popping in my head like popcorn… temptations to question.

“Why would a grocery and clothing store have mattresses? Oh how I wish we had the money to get that set!”

 

Instead of listening to the mind chatter, I slowly walked up to it while my heart was pounding hard.

Dare I have the audacity to have so much faith that THIS set could be affordable? And by affordable I mean dirt cheap, friends. We had a tidbit of money left. We knew we needed it badly, but my soul was trusting what God was saying…

 

“I will provide if you trust.”

 

Everyone knows new mattress sets are at least a few hundred dollars. We didn’t have that much. But I was well aware that if I did as God asked then He’d fulfill my heart’s desire.

My husband had wanted the same thing. I slowly peeked at the price tag…

Would you join me for the rest of the story over here at my guest post for My Freshly Brewed Life? It’s a true blessing for many!

Live blessed,
Heather

I’d love to send encouraging posts from my blog and books to your email inbox. You can sign up here!

6 thoughts on “The Miracle in the Mattress

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

