Relativism: Like a Contagion

Contagion: The communication of disease.

Or in the case of relativism – the disease of communication.

We are living in a time like no other in history. A time where people believe what they want simply because they want to and they KNOW they can. I’ve been “people watching” for at least 2 decades. Watching the subtle take over of communication by the disease called relativism.


20140107-225928.jpg

Relativism:
the doctrine that knowledge, truth, and morality exist in relation to culture, society, or historical context, and are not absolute.

I’ve thought a great deal about how it could even be logical to believe such a thing. I’ve come to the only conclusion possible in the honest assessment of it all: people accept relativism as a truth about life and something in it, in part or in whole, because of what they’ve heard someone else communicate.

Any other reason would be so illogical in and of itself that it couldn’t possibly last among honest thinking people. So how then do people believe relativism is the answer to life?

I think it’s because they don’t honestly think.

No, I’m not falling victim to double speak there. I just see so many making their decision about something because someone else made a convincing argument and *BOOM* – there you have a vote.

It breaks down immediately when one honestly thinks about the impossibility that truth only follows the truth tellers of a society: culture and events which make up historical context. IF that were true, then there could be no truth since it would all contradict each other.

It’s scary to think people would be fooled into thinking relativism is even a possibility. But even more scary to me is that many Christians think “relatively” when it comes to certain subjects… mainly those who don’t want to go against society’s grain.

Now, I’m not saying we can’t learn and relearn something. I’ve certainly been glad I had ample opportunity to relearn some MANY things I got wrong in life. And I’m not saying Christians will get everything right on the first go round of learning. What I am talking about is that many of us – including me, myself, and I a few several times – have made decisions about things … important things … based on what someone said here and there or something we read here and there.

It’s that here and there part that can make us go with the flow, if you know what I mean. Just because a group of people say “it’s so” doesn’t mean “it’s so”. Going against the grain makes us feel left out or ostracized so we just “say it ain’t so” to the thinking it through and checking God’s Word about it … but…

God goes against the grain so we must be prepared to do the same. It’s much like swimming against the school. In this case- the school of thought that’s being communicated. And it’s a communicated disease. A contagion.

As Christians we are asked to tell and teach. We must teach God’s absolute truth – not the truth du jour.

And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” -Matthew 28:18-20

See that? Most of us know the “go and tell the good news part”, but it doesn’t stop there.

Our communication must not be a contagious untruth. It must be exactly God’s truth. And even if you aren’t a teacher, a pastor, or the like, remember that the way you live is the loudest communication you have.

Sometimes I fail. No. Many times I fail. But God’s plan never fails so when I do He’s got it covered. I just need to make sure that when I fail the world still sees God’s truth in the restoration. Not some truth that happens to be popular at the moment.

Live Blessed,

20140207-102505.jpg

Walk the journey with me? That would be cool.

40YearWanderer.com

Conversations on FB.

Mini conversations on Twitter.

#40YearWanderer

7 thoughts on “Relativism: Like a Contagion

  1. seespeakhearmama says:

    I like this Heather. Living in an age where everyone has a stage to stand on, to shout loudly everything they believe…well, it’s more important than ever to watch our words and make sure the truth we speak isn’t only our own. It’s difficult and I’m learning.

    Like

    • Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

      You are right, Lisha… it is difficult. I think that’s why we tend to falter as Believers because it isn’t easy. “Easier said than done” means much more than immediate face value. But we can’t not find the Truth if we search ourselves for it.
      Blessings dear lady.

      Like

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

