Who Is Your Loudest Critic?

20131120-224851.jpg

I’m thankful that no matter what anyone else thinks about me or thinks they know about me, I know the truth. I’m a child of the One True King. I’m beautiful because He says I am, and there isn’t anyone ever going to convince me otherwise. Not even … Me.

Aren’t we our own biggest critics?

I think that’s a collective “yes” I hear from all those being honest with themselves.

I’m not talking about good introspect through prayer or accountability with a trusted Believer – trying to change a sinful thing in our lives. Those are things we should do in healthy ways.

Sometimes the loud critics in our lives may seem like the biggest critics, but a few loud ones here and there – externally – bear no resemblance and can’t hold a candle to the internal chiming of “I’m not good enough” and “I’ll never be able to”.

But since we are having an honest conversation with ourselves right now … Wouldn’t that also make us liars?

Yes.

No collective “yes” there, huh? Allow me to explain. Did God call us to be “good enough”? No. He called us just as we are and then told us He would perfect us. Of course He tells how to do better, how to steer clear of temptation, how to walk a life towards Him. He doesn’t excuse us from trying to do and be better. He just understands it won’t be an overnight process. That’s why He is the one that is perfecting us into His glory and care. We are good enough for Him. And that is what matters. We need to quit lying to ourselves by saying we aren’t good enough.

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. ~ Rom. 8:1

If He doesn’t want us to feel unworthy and unloved, then who are we to be telling ourselves we are not? It is not prideful and haughty to love who God made you to be.

In fact, I think most of our self-condemnation would go away of we truly went after the gifts He has given us to share for His glory and Love. Let’s stop the cries of the biggest critic in our lives.

Aren’t you an heir with Christ?

“The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs – heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him. ~ Rom. 8:16&17

And how about that other lie we tell ourselves? “I’ll never be able to______”. You’ve filled that blank in with many tons of things haven’t you? We have clear direction on that one, too.

I can do all this through Him who gives me strength. ~ Philippians 4:13

Not “if He gives”. Not IF.

He gives the strength so we can have the strength. It is because of Him, by Him, and for Him that we are able to ______.

Don’t be your loudest critic.

And ignore all the rest.

Live Blessed,

20140207-102505.jpg

Walk the journey with me? That would be cool.

40YearWanderer.com

Conversations on FB.

Mini conversations on Twitter.

#40YearWanderer

3 thoughts on “Who Is Your Loudest Critic?

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

