DOOR PRAYERS: These Are Open AND Shut Cases

Door Prayers. That’s what I call those prayers that I learned were the way to pray for something when you aren’t even sure what that something really is.

Like this. Recently in my life.

Today would be the day – specifically – for “door” prayer. Trusting if this door, that seems to have been swung open wide for us already, will stay open in God’s plan for us – or if He shuts it for good since we should, in fact, not walk through it. It appears to be shutting now and so we stand trusting He will take hold of the door for us and clearly show us to walk or that we must wait for a different door. We will stand completely in His will. Can’t say a closed door here wouldn’t feel like a slammed door and that we wouldn’t be disappointed, but in our hindsight we always appreciate God closing doors that would not be good for us after all. No matter how great that particular path may seem at the time.

Sometimes things appear to be lining up for the perfect stroll through that door, over that threshold. Looks great! Feels great! Must be God. But wait. No? Yes? Is it opening or is it shutting?

It’s both!

Suddenly the door turns into a gate. The gate turns into a big roller coaster ride! Yes becomes maybe and no becomes yes and maybe becomes … well … nauseating!

{ I do NOT ride roller coasters! The person in front wouldn’t like me if I did! }

So the gate needs a Door Prayer.

God, this thing. Yes, I need that guidance you promised. This thing is baffling. And nauseating. The upside downs. The twists and the turns. I will take “no” or “yes”, but please God, no more “maybe”. I trust you to open the doors that we are to clearly walk through and close them before we even lean forward to try if they aren’t meant as answers.

That’s it. Then I thank Him until I see the open door. The one staying open. I listen carefully for direction and knowledge. The situation might seem crazy like a ride, but at that point I’ve given Him the button that controls the entire fun park.

So this time, this was regarding us buying a house. The first house we’ve owned since 2008. We had sold that house that year and moved to another state, and the job my husband thought he had was swept out from underneath him when the industry he had worked in was demolished by the economic collapse. Then, my husband got very ill that summer. He ended up nearly dying. That was a GIANT DOOR PRAYER!

Fast forward a bit: he lived, in a miracle that surprised even the doctors! But he couldn’t find a job for 23 months. So we lost everything.

Buying a house after a bankruptcy is not easy, not fun.

But God.

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. – Psalm 73:26

But God, can do anything. If we let Him.

Let Him.

20130707-092246.jpg

I knew my heart was to have a home again. I appreciated more than I can describe always having a roof over our heads even if we didn’t own them. But there was just something that was deep in my soul. I wanted to bless people large in my very own home again. As a wife and mom I felt a longing to have roots planted again. I knew God had a plan for the next house we owned.

We had friends who bought a house a few years after their bankruptcy. It has hit people hard. { Bad times, folks. But that doesn’t mean they stay bad. } They prayed with us to have that home again – believing, too, that it was not about the house but about the plan inside it.

Fast forward to now: God used for good what was terribly bad in our lives and He has brought us to a place where we are once again going to be homeowners. Why? Because it’s not about the house. It’s about the plan.

And because if we trust, the desires of our heart that come from Him, always come to fruition.

It’s really about the plan, friends.

Trusting God. It’s where we LIVE best.

~ Heather

PS –
And then…
there are these other kinds of doors:

Despite the negativity that comes out of our hearts, brains, and subsequently our mouths… I give grace and forgiveness just as I ask for it. I am concerned about the justification though. It’s the justification that gets us into deeper junk. Oh, how I want never to let my heart go there again as I have. Surely my fleshly ways will, but God help me to close that door. No. Slam it.

Negativity doesn’t come often to me like it used to. But when it does…

I trust Him to help me slam it shut.

Live Blessed,
Heather

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “DOOR PRAYERS: These Are Open AND Shut Cases

  1. Terry says:

    This was a great post. A post asking us to wait on God. A post asking and teaching us to listen for God’s action. All is done for our good if we just listen and be patient. Thanks Heather for a wonderful post today

    Like

  2. Rose Williams says:

    What a wise post, Heather. Thanks for reminding me that even when four days have past and my hope has died, He is never late.

    Like

    • Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

      Awwww. Thanks Rose. :) Don’t let your hope die my friend. If I start to notice myself falter, I remind myself of how Hebrews 11:6 starts out: And without faith it is impossible to please God.

      I just focus on pleasing Him.

      You are a dear heart. :)
      – Heather

      Like

  3. writerwannabe763 says:

    I’m picturing a different kind of door right now… a ‘swinging’ door . I am on one side and “someone close to me’ on the other side.. It is available for each to open and embrace and ‘be one’ again Diane

    Like

  4. ed says:

    Thank you for this post. I’ve read it 3x now and in agreement with the “No More Maybes!”
    Nothing hurts more than hope deferred but I’m done with the maybes. I too pray that God would make His perfect will clear and distinct.

    Like

    • Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer says:

      Thank you! I often wonder if He always makes His Will distinct and it is just not clear because our human condition makes us susceptible to missing it. I’m trying hard to lean in and listen – changing my condition. :)

      Thanks for stopping by !
      – Heather

      Like

  5. Nannette and The Sweetheart says:

    Reblogged this on Hope in the Healing and commented:
    “When a life is touched, a life is changed. Sometimes that life is changed so drastically that it must speak.” ~ Heather Mertens Heather has spent 40+ years wandering through life – at first aimlessly and now at last with drive, passion, and commitment to Christ who called her out of the darkness. Her life has brought depression and healing, death and life, destruction and repair, sadness and victory – and above all else … Love. Heather is a gifted writer and today’s post is such a blessing I just had to share it with you. “Door Prayers”. I loved it and hope you do too…

    Like

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

