Born to Make a Difference

EmmLe_Images_Yellow_Tree_40YearWanderer

I must have been born wanting to make a difference because I can remember longing for that very thing as far back as I can recollect. I started writing at a very young age. In fact when my father passed away from suicide when I was only 9 years of age, I was given his wallet with everything still in tact. I cried a river of tears through the years right onto the extremely worn leather because inside I found a poem I had written him when I was seven. It may have been simplistic but it touched him among his depression and his hurting world. Some might say it was because I was his daughter and I am sure that is part of why he carried it so close to him every day. But I can’t help but think of the power of words, and how they pierced into his heart with love. I imagine the times he pulled it out to read it. The paper was clearly worn with fingerprints of love.

It certainly pierced my heart in more ways than one. So much so that I kept writing. Since then I’ve volunteered my writing efforts, freelanced my writing skills, and written for my soul. The last is where my heart resides.

Becoming a mother was an answer to an early prayer. You might wonder what mothering has to do with writing. For me they go together. Not only do I write to preserve my life memories for my daughter to share in, I also write to encourage and love others throughout the world just like a mother would do – or in my case, a Father. God is the reason I write. He prepared me all the way back when I was a young poet making a mark on my dad’s heart. It is a great blessing to reach into the hearts of my readers and hug them with words. Hearing from them blesses me greatly.

It was about 7 years ago when I first knew I was supposed to write a book to share all that I have lived through: the depression and disease, my dad’s suicide, the long search for love in the wrong places. The timing was not quite right for the book then and I needed to write, so about 5 years ago I started writing on my blog. As I learned more about myself and God, I was amazed at how He was using my story and the redemption I experienced.

Now I am in the middle of writing that book and it is already touching lives, including my own, as I re-live with purpose. I am also writing a second book, Live.Learn.Love. – Q&A for the Soul, about how God and faith factor into our lives as we all search for answers in life. Sometimes I don’t know how I am doing it all. But then I remember “That is what happens when we step out into our momentum that God has for us.”

When my words reach across miles and miles to give someone hope and love, well, that’s a feeling I don’t want to lose. I don’t think I could encourage other moms enough to tell their story – somehow, some way.

Whether you write or not, share as you live and live as you share. The connections made are phenomenal. It just takes stepping out and giving it your heart.

Live Blessed,
~ Heather

 

5 thoughts on “Born to Make a Difference

  1. weakestreed says:

    Do I know you from somewhere? Honestly, you look so familiar and I feel somehow like we’ve met. I blog under a pen name,so you probably won’t recognize me but if I figure it out, I’ll let you know….;) But really nice to meet you via this bloghop and excited to read more. My blogging is often rooted in my relationship with Jesus, too, so I feel like we’ll have a lot in common even if we really never have met.

    Like

  2. meaganfrank says:

    Heather, thank you so much for sharing your story, both here and in the books you are writing. You are right in your call to action for every mother to tell her story somehow. Stories are a phenomenal way to make a difference for others.

    Thanks for participating!
    Meagan

    Like

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

