We Must Give to Have. We Must Surrender to Shine.

I desire with all my being that when people look at me they always see Jesus’ love and light.

I used to want people to look at me and see independence, self-reliance, intelligence, and career oriented passion.

But instead they probably saw turmoil, resistance, insecurity, and tiredness.

John 1:5 And the light shines in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.

I gave my life to Jesus when I was 15. But I surrendered my life to Jesus much later in life. It is the giving that really means accepting His gift which brings eternity with Him. But it is only at the surrendering of all that we are, all that have, and all that we desire that really lights up our world.

It’s the light that makes life full.

It’s the light that makes us complete.

It’s the light that replaces the darkness.

It’s that very light that brings love.

20130330-080116.jpg

It is the light of Christ Jesus the Savior that emanates.

Why wait to emanate His light? I suppose it is because we all have to get to a point of true surrender. We have to want what He wants. We have to desire what He desires. We must want to follow.

John 8:12 Then spoke Jesus again to them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that follows me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

You will not know all that He has for you until you truly surrender everything.
And believe me, I know. You must give to have. You must surrender to shine.

Live Blessed,
Heather

 

6 thoughts on “We Must Give to Have. We Must Surrender to Shine.

  1. michelle213akron says:

    I pray to yield and surrender more of myself every day. I had a similar experience of finding that willingness later in life, but better late than never!! The sad thing is that most proclaimed Christians never walk in victory and claim their right as citizens of the kingdom to be saved from themselves in this life. They don’t allow Him to sanctify them and produce in them the holiness and righteousness that is our 2nd birthright. I thank Him every day for His clear guidance and teaching in my life and the gift of willingness to give up my right to live my life for me and chose to live it for the sake of the kingdom, in hopes that I may be used to bring others into the family!! He has risen indeed!!

    Like

    • Heather Mertens - 40YearWanderer says:

      Fabulous words of life, Michelle. You are so right about many just stopping in infantile Christianity. I certainly did. It is sad to me, deeply sad, that most Believers I see are not living FOR him. They merely live. Day in, day out life. I don’t want a day to go by that’s not used by Him. Again, your words blessed me today. Thank you!
      Happy Easter!
      – Heather

      Like

    • Heather Mertens - 40YearWanderer says:

      Thanks so much, Wendy. I get this straight from Him who loves me. I remember praying for knowledge as a young girl. I strayed as a teen after I gave my life to Christ… I wandered. But He answered those prayers … In His perfect timing.
      Thank you for stopping by and thank you so very much for the lovely comment.
      Happy Happy Easter!
      Heather

      Like

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

